Emily Keener - I Do Not Have to Be Good Album Art

On her upcoming album, I Do Not Have to Be Good, Keener colors her plaintive and introspective lyricism with a frailty that longs for connection and understanding. When Keener began working on the new album with Dalton Brand at WaveBurner Recording, she consciously broke away from the belief in perfection and purity as being necessary, or even possible. She says, “Despite a loving family, my personal experience with a Christian upbringing led me to develop deep self-censoring, self-doubt, and the belief that I must always present as kind and good regardless of how I feel.” The album is a call to free censored desires and doubted truths. 

I Do Not Have to Be Good Track Listing

  1. Nap
  2. Do You Love Me Lately?
  3. I Know (feat. Cathalyn)
  4. I Don’t Know Anything
  5. Boats
  6. Static
  7. Mary, I Love Her
  8. Elbow
  9. Comfort