Simon Lunche - Red Delicious Single Art

“Soulful singer-songwriter Simon Lunche’s ‘Cherry Wine’ is a sweet and sumptuous jazz tinged single…with guitar skills far beyond his age” – Jonathan Frahm, Pop Matters


BERKELEY, CA (June 8, 2020) –  Independent recording artist Simon Lunche announces the release of “Red Delicious” on July 13. It’s the first of two singles preceding the release of his upcoming LP Never Knew The Night due out September 25.  Both a sweet soliloquy to loneliness, and a seductive summer’s eve daydream, “Red Delicious” draws the listener into a ripe world full of longing, romance, and innocence. 

Lunche’s vocals and equally expressive instrumentation are center stage throughout the track giving it a rare combination of introspection and danceability. Lunche penned and produced the track himself and was accompanied on bass and drums by LA’s best session musicians including Sean Hurley (John Mayer) and Aaron Sterling (Harry Styles, John Mayer). The final mix by Dave Reitzas (Stevie Wonder, Barbra Streisand, The Weeknd) added just the right finishing touch.

Lunche’s inaugural album Never Knew The Night presents a coming of age record, presented through an extraordinary romantic lense. Loss of youth is center stage throughout and feels like the last sweet flowers of spring falling away. Facing change is the most inherent human challenge and for that reason Never Knew The Night is an incredibly relatable piece of work. Focused around Lunche’s seductive vocals, and equally emotive guitar, he has created something truly authentic. 

Never Knew the Night Track Listing

  1. Red Delicious
  2. Grace
  3. Cherry Wine
  4. Valley Girl
  5. Give it up
  6. Marigolds
  7. Heart
  8. Learning To Love
  9. Kiss Me
  10. In My Arms
  11. All I Know
  12. Lover

About Simon Lunche

Simon Lunche is a soul pop musician from Berkeley, California. His album was mixed by multi-Grammy award winner Dave Reitzas, features bass by Sean Hurley (John Mayer), and back-up vocalists Tiffany Palmer (John Mayer) and Brandon Winbush (Patti Labelle, Tori Kelly). Lunche was named youngest ever “Gibson Guitar Artist” at the age of 13, and “One to Watch” by LIVE 105/CBS SF 2016. He has shared the bill with Josiah Johnson and lead members of Head and The Heart. Lunche’s full album is due out September 25.

Praise For Simon Lunche

“Soulful singer-songwriter Simon Lunche’s ‘Cherry Wine’ is a sweet and sumptuous jazz tinged single…with guitar skills far beyond his age” -Jonathan Frahm, Pop Matters

“Voice baked between a rich stack of guitar, a neck nuzzle of intimacy, skin soft and flaky, flows down the eardrums replenishing the well of romance. He’s a dazling crooner, bringing his listeners to their knees, with a penchant for stinging guitars” – Jason Scott, B-Sides and Badlands

“Simon Lunche does something rare in modern pop music, though there is much more going on here than mere pop. The sound of a man bearing his soul, of being as open, honest and vulnerable as you can be, and all in the name of love. It just doesn’t happen these days. Of all the lyrical sentiment and lovelorn rhetoric that pop is traditionally built on, I can’t remember the last time I heard a record in that genre that felt anything other than a calculated bid to win the listeners pop dollar rather than pull on their heartstrings. Simon Lunche is here to re-write that wrong. Anyone who can capture such emotion and heart-on-(record) sleeve romance in such straight forward musical lines is going to be an artist you’ll want to keep an eye on. Dripping with all the qualities that made Jeff Buckley’s music so memorable” – Dave Franklin, Dancing About Architecture