“Stunning compositions…really great songwriting…really great stuff!” – Valida Carroll, KCRW (89.9 FM)


BEND, OREGON (January 27, 2021) – Kolby Knickerbocker announces the release of the upcoming EP, Over and Over, featuring the title track mixed by Sean Moffitt (Mat Kearney, Josh Groban, Ingrid Michaelson). The EP is due out April 2. 

An exercise in mindfulness, Over and Over, explores moments in the everyday that contribute to the human condition. Knickerbocker’s pillowy vocals crackle tenderly within all the crevices of a father and husband’s love. Tinkling keys and tranquil strumming apply a salve to a troubled soul in a time of need. Knickerbocker says, “There comes a certain responsibility as a songwriter, I think, to use this gift of music and lyrics for the betterment of the world.”

Commitment. Stability. Love. A testament that no matter how difficult it gets, no matter how strong the emotion, no matter the challenge, he’ll always be there. That’s the message Knickerbocker wanted to send to his wife in the song, “Over and Over.” To reinforce the message, he recorded 15 separate vocal parts to recreate a gospel choir effect. The songs “Prayer” and “Everything I Am” serve as a reminder to Knickerbocker to be present with his son and daughter. “Grace” looks at a tragic event of teenage suicide with compassion, empathy, and caring.

While the title track is about coming back to love and relationship “Over and Over,” the EP’s title has a double meaning behind it. The EP is a nod to Knickerbocker’s feelings about being a musician. He says, “It can be draining, with long nights and lots of hard work, but I always come back to it because it is something that I love to do. It is endlessly challenging and endlessly fulfilling, so I will come back to writing songs and being a musician Over and Over, no matter how challenging.” 

Knickerbocker worked with cellist, Sharong Gerber, on a few of the tracks on this EP. He says, “She’s worked with some really great artists like Ryan O’Neal (Sleeping at Last), Rodrigo Rodriguez, and Imogen Heap; artists that I truly admire for their craft.” 

On and On EP Track Listing

  1. Prayer
  2. Over and Over
  3. Everything I Am
  4. Grace

About Kolby Knickerbocker

Knickerbocker started his professional musical career early on, releasing his first album with Kitty’s Musicbox (2004) as a sophomore in college. He has since released an additional full-length album Red Dust (2015) and two EPs, Rodello’s Machine (2012) and Animus (2016). Nate Donnis who’s received industry attention from the BBC’s series “Skins” and the PBS series “Roadtrip Nation,” appeared on Rodello’s Machine. Knickerbocker has received critical acclaim from industry tastemakers including Indie Shuffle and KCRW. His music has been featured in television shows like MTV’s Degrassi High, 90210, Heart Signal, and Barely Breathing.


Praise For Kolby Knickerbocker

“Stunning compositions…really great songwriting…really great stuff!” – Valida Carroll, KCRW (89.9 FM)

“Good lord, [it] had me hooked from the word go!” – Jason Grishkoff, Indieshuffle.com