“Cellist & vocalist Mia Pixley delivers a rich, emotive record with stirring vocal melodies & gorgeous strings for a riveting final product.” — Bandcamp

BAY AREA, CA  (June 22, 2021) – Mia Pixley announces the release of her upcoming album, Margaret in the Wild, on July 23.  Margaret in the Wild establishes a home beyond Pixley and her cello – a home truly sowed in the earth. The album was mixed by two-time GRAMMY Award winner, Nahuel Bronziniand mastered by multi Latin GRAMMY award winner Andrés Mayo (Argentina).

Each track spirals and unfurls into full bloom as if emerging from nature’s roots and Pixley’s internal discoveries within the wild. The songs simultaneously tell the stories of the wilderness within and without and the complimentary search for human connection. “In the Daylight” distills the collective day-to-day pulse through a rhythmic meditative groove. “Everything is Slow Motion” expresses Pixley’s personal experiences as a transracial adoptee and the overt and covert racial aggressions brought by her differences. The song also expresses a collective lament for past and present-day racialized traumas experienced by many American families and communities of color.

A lifelong nature lover, who finally found her place with the help of strikingly emotional ocean swims during the pandemic, “Margaret in the Wild” represents Pixley unapologetically planting herself alongside others and invites listeners to do the same. In the nine-track album, Pixley opens herself to the wilds of connection, to gratitude for what she has been given, as well as, to sorrow for what she has lost, and to nature’s inspirational capacity to root her uprooted beginnings.

Margaret in the Wild Track Listing

  1. Core (Introduction)
  2. In the Daylight
  3. Good Taste
  4. Mama’s Got Snacks
  5. Voices (A poem by Christopher Shaw)
  6. Everything is Slow Motion
  7. African Prayer
  8. In Between Sound
  9. Watering 

About Mia Pixley

Pixley has performed under the alias Baeilou where she’s received notable recognition from Afropunk, collaborated in award-winning Off-Broadway theater productions (Soho Rep and Ars Nova produced, Futurity), film, and performance art compositions. In 2018, she recorded cello on Fantastic Negrito’s second GRAMMY award-winning album, “Please Don’t be Dead”, which won Best Contemporary Blues. Most recently, she had the honor of playing cello on Barbara Higbie’s beautiful album, “Resonance”. Pixley also tours regularly with Higbie on the annual Windham Hill Winter Solstice Tour. 


Praise For Mia Pixley

“Mia Pixley circles around stories in her songs, implying much, and declaring little, creating a constant sense of enveloping curiosity. As if beneath cello plucks and wails, there’s the truth of the matter.” — Afropunk

“A soft, stirring ray of sound washes over the ears as Mia Pixley’s meditative and mesmerizing new single ‘In the Daylight’ gently rises and shines.” – Atwood

“poetic” – The Autumn Roses

“Mia PIxley is not just knocking down walls but building bridges between the disparate neoclassical & jazz worlds, fusing her convention teasing cello, sweet southern soul with easy on the ear yet thought provoking lyrics on her strikingly original & mightily accomplished debut LP.” – The Slow Music Movement