“…this is a quiet, simple joy.” – Folk Radio UK

KNOX, PA (June 25, 2021) – Garrett Heath announces the July 30 album release, Kingdom Come. A pastoral quality wooded in Heath’s rural Pennsylvania roots permeates the album, under bedding a tapestry woven within a lyrical tale of the human condition. The album was mastered by Grammy-winning engineer Pete Lyman (Chris Stapleton, John Prine, Jason Isbell). 

Many of the songs were written during particularly difficult life situations ranging from a long struggle with anxiety to the death of a close friend. The songs were all recorded live off the floor in the studio with the arrangements falling around the original live takes. Heath says, “The intention was to keep the feel and emotion up front since this is where the songs came from in the first place.” 

The songs are an extension of close relationships Heath has the privilege of sharing his life with. He says, “I wouldn’t be who I am and these songs wouldn’t be what they are without such rich friendships and close family bonds that have upheld me throughout the course of my life. Much of this record was directly inspired by these relationships and the power they have to keep me afloat even in the most difficult of times. If anything, this feels like the best way I can say ‘thank you’ to all these beautiful people who’ve given so much to me.”

The album takes the listener on a journey beaconed by harmonica and lilting melodies, exploring the formations made throughout life and love, hope, and suffering. The title track forms a linchpin to the rest of the album with a search for love that gives meaning and purpose to both the joys and the sorrows. “You’ll Find Me” captures mindfulness and the goodness and beauty that surrounds the present moment when our eyes are open to it. There’s growing into the person you’re meant to be on “Rise Up From Your Sleep.”  “Leaving” touches on outgrowing a problematic situation with a longing for something truer and deeper. Kingdom Come’s humanity reflects the humanity within all of us.

Kingdom Come Track Listing

  1. You’ll Find Me
  2. Kingdom Come
  3. Rise Up From Your Sleep
  4. The Feast
  5. When God Had a Son
  6. Leaving
  7. Wait For Mercy
  8. River of Life
  9. Epilogue: A Light

About Garrett Heath

A proponent of Dostoevsky’s maxim that “beauty will save the world,” soulful imagery and an honest voice appear at the cornerstone of Garrett Heath’s songwriting. His debut album, Whisper in the Dark, sparked a tour of the eastern US in 2013. His music was also featured in the 2014 feature film, “Potential Inertia” (OneFishFilms). Heath lives and works outside his hometown in rural western Pennsylvania, where he recorded the album Kingdom Come in his new recording studio (Okiejoke Sound).


Tour Dates

Thursday, July 15 – Deer Creek Winery, Shippenville, PA

Thursday, July 29 – Tellus 360 , Lancaster, PA

Friday, July 30 – The King George Speakeasy, York, PA

Friday, August 13 – Cranberry Twp Farm Market, Cranberry Township, PA

Friday, August 27 – Dublin Pub, Dayton, OH