ALBUQUERQUE (September 20, 2021) – David Climaco Garcia announces the release of the Americana single, “Rolling On” on October 7.  A classic ballad exploring the malaise and heartache endemic in modern life, it’s off the album, Between the Devil and Me, due out on October 15.

There was a feeling of quiet mundanity emerging amongst the changing colors when Garcia wrote the song during the first American pandemic lockdown in late spring 2020. This contemplation could be carried through all the seasons, asking the question, “Would the Fall be any different?” Garcia says, “It was like I could see the whole year spread out before me. I didn’t know at the time my mother would be diagnosed with cancer and be gone by October. In that context, the finishing of the tune through the recording and mixing process took on an entirely new gravity. The tune became something of a lullaby/singalong for myself and my family as we moved through the strangeness that had become everyday life.” 

There’s a togetherness in carrying on with our hopes and dreams on our backs. Garcia says, “We wake up each morning and do our thing… sip the coffee, take the kids to school, sit at the desk, report to work, whatever our groove might be. We wander through it all in a daze, and there’s a nagging sense of somehow losing ground. Like a frog in boiling water, we’re just quietly doing the business of life and trying to hold on.” The tune’s cadence turns the concept on its head, triumphantly rising in defiance of the blase and celebrating the sheer beauty of perseverance. 

“Rolling On” Credits:

David Climaco Garcia– Guitars & Lead vocals

Casey Mraz – Piano

Justin Lindsey – Bass

Jim Palmer – Drums

Alex McMahon – Pedal Steel

Nori Kai & Nikelle Garcia – Backing Vocals

Between the Devil and Me, Garcia’s upcoming solo album culminates his experiences confronting the demons of addiction, greed, and the hunger for love and acceptance. Garcia maps love, loss, and life wandering the American road, weaving in the environmental and social justice issues omnipresent in our culture. His story and songs are an invitation to join in the wanderlust.

Between the Devil and Me Track Listing

  1. The Devil and Me
  2. Everybody Gets to Be Wrong
  3. Half of the Time
  4. True Much Love
  5. Rolling Down the Line
  6. Down by Her Riverside Home
  7. Higher
  8. If Lonely Were Money
  9. Make Way for the King
  10. Hold You
  11. Rolling On

About David Climaco Garcia

David Climaco Garcia emerges from a mid-century highway culture that still dominates the American imagination. The Albuquerque-based songwriter draws from New Mexico’s Southwestern Americana, a blend of classic cowboy and country sensibilities mixed with his own Spanish and Native American lineage. Garcia has assisted sessions with Neil Young, The Donnas, and Portishead’s Geoff Barrow at the studio Bill Putnam built for John Coltrane in the sixties. He played shows with the seminal indie-folk queen, Jolie Holland. While an editor and New Mexico post production supervisor on the Academy Award-nominated film “Hell or High Water,” he jammed with Jeff Bridges.


Live Streams

Praise For