COLUMBUS, Ohio  (October 1, 2021) – Lydia Brownfield announces the release of the single “We Are Bound” on October 12. Through gentle strumming and Brownfield’s nurturing vocals, the single serves as a reminder that what we teach our kids is who they grow up to be. We can either lift up or tear down. It’s completely up to us. It’s off the upcoming album, Dig, due out November 19. 

A plea for empathy, the song focuses on the idea that we all play a part in everyone’s life. Brownfield says, “I was feeling particularly isolated and also very frustrated, mostly within the political climate, near the end of 2019. Watching our political leaders only looking out for themselves was sad and infuriating. I wanted to write something to remind myself – we have the power to heal each other, to teach each other right from wrong and to lift up those who are down or less fortunate.”

The single produced by Fred Blitzer features Brownfield and Jeff Dalrymple on acoustic guitar, Andy Harrison on electric guitar, Jeff Martin on drums, and Phil Maneri on bass. Brownfield also added strings and piano.

The album travels the euphoric highs of being in love and the dramatic lows of breaking up and discovering internal power. Through genre-bending twists and turns of folk, punk, and pop, it explores the journey of getting caught up in someone else and losing sight of one’s journey of self-discovery.

Dig Track Listing

  1. We Are Bound
  2. Death Do Us Part
  3. Against The Light 
  4. Broken
  5. Say You Understand
  6. Everything Out There 
  7. Love: Forever 
  8. The Digger 
  9. Things I’ve Done 
  10. Hurricane
  11. Windsong & Cigarette Smoke 
  12. Just Like Love
  13. Holding Hands 

About Lydia Brownfield

Lydia Brownfield’s songs reflect a lifetime of rich and also very human experiences.  They include growing up in Columbus, Ohio, and studying at the local fine arts college. A decade of living and performing in Atlanta and touring the south. A move to New York City and going through two difficult divorces. And most importantly, becoming a mom. Brownfield’s music influences range widely from folk and alternative country to power pop and punk, and her songs cross many of those same genres but find a comfortable spot among edgy folk/pop artists.

Tour Dates

Lydia Brownfield Album Release Show
Natalie’s Coal Fired Pizza and Live Music – Worthington, OH
Saturday, November 20
Tickets: TBD