“She is a singer of sophisticated folk…and her guitar sound dances lightly below her vocals.  In other words it sounds pretty darn good.” – Americana UK

WARWICK, New York (November 3, 2022) – On November 15, Tina Ross releases the title track off her upcoming album, “While I’m Here.”  The single is a  commitment to live life to the fullest and also to help others along the way. Within it, she sings, “I will welcome the sweat that comes with giving everything.” The album is due out February 17, 2023.  All proceeds from sales on the 29th will go to WhyHunger, an organization Ross supports as an advocate in helping solve food insecurity. Her lyric video expresses her passion vividly through illustrations by Lisa Bastoni, who created the video.

Embracing a D5 open tuning, it reflects the D Major key symbolism of triumph, confidence, and hallelujahs. The D5 has no third and creates a driving, droning sound, which acts as the bass and background offering a sense of possibility in the song.

Ross says “I have a pond in my backyard where geese come and go. I’m fascinated by the cooperation of geese in their long flights, their formation, and the fact that they take turns sharing the responsibility of leading in equal shares. “This concept found its way into the song. The first line of the song: “While I’m Here I will listen to the cackle of the geese as they land.”  And in the chorus: “The burdens we bear are the burdens we share.  That’s how we’re sure to get by.  Taking turns to take the lead,  One goose alone might never make that flight.”

Tina Ross’s debut folk release, “While I’m Here,” has been a long time in the making. In her second act, she overcomes injuries indicative of her craft to pursue her very patient muse with resilience and perseverance. Ross had to overcome challenges before she could fully explore a songwriter career. After being accidentally hit in the throat, she could not talk for more than five minutes without her voice frying. Singing was out of the question. She worked through this successfully with doctors, physical therapists, and vocal coaches. And after Ross injured her hands as a chiropractor, she searched for a way to adjust her guitar playing to the limitations of this disability. Open tunings became an essential part of Ross’s music, opening sonic landscapes that she would not have imagined without that adaptation. This discovery resulted in distinctive, nuanced textures in her guitar playing. 

“While I’m Here” Track Listing

  1. While I’m Here (4:15)
  2. A Life I Am Forging (4:07)
  3. Artemisia (3:25)
  4. It Doesn’t Bother Me Now (4:08)
  5. Make It To The Other Side (3:41)
  6. Dawn Redwood Winter (4:22)
  7. Night Thoughts Speak (3:34)
  8. Hold The Door (4:03)
  9. Summers Like These (4:08)
  10. Catching Up (3:19)

About Tina Ross

Ross is full-speed (double time) songwriting with The Jack Hardy Songwriting Exchange and Steven Seskin, recording with Mark Dann (having recently finished her debut album), performing, and embracing her growing music community. Ross hosts the Open Stage and hosts and produces the monthly online series “Inside the Song” for The Folk Project of New Jersey. Ross interviews seasoned songwriters and explores their songwriting process. Guests have included Dar Williams, Ellis Paul, and Christine Lavin. Ross brings her innate curiosity to understand the vision behind an artist’s work. She’s been recognized by the UK Songwriting Contest and The International Blues and Roots Radio Contest as a finalist and the John Lennon Songwriting Contest as an Honorable Mention. Ross’s upcoming album is her official imprint into the digital folk community after a year of performing in notable folk conferences and festivals, including Folk Alliance, opening for Tom Chapin, and appearing as a special guest of Christine Lavin.

Tour Dates

Wed, Nov 9, 2022 7-8:00 pm EST‘Inside The Song’ – The Folk Project of NJ – on Zoom

Nov 10-13, 202 – NERFA 2022  7 LIVE SHOWCASES – Asbury Park, NJ

Thursday, December 8, 7-8:00 pm EST – ‘Inside The Song’ – The Folk Project of NJ – on Zoom

Friday, December 9, 7:30 – 10:00 pm EST – Host of The Folk Project of NJ’s Open Stage – Morristown, NJ

Saturday, Dec. 10 7:30 pm EST – Christine Lavin with Tina Ross, The Cooperage Project – River Vibes Concert, Honesdale, PA

Saturday, Jan 7, 2023 8-10  pm ESTThe Songwriters Round – Songcraft and Chat, Tina Ross, KJ Denhert, Sam Robbins and Halley Neal,  The Hurdy Gurdy Folk Music Club, Fair Lawn, NJ

Thursday, Jan 19, 2023 – Songwriter CircleOne Broadway Collaborative, Lawrence, MA 01840